Chloe Bakes: Chocolate Football Cake

My boyfriend has managed to complain at regular intervals over the past year that I didn’t bake him a birthday cake last year (even though I did, it was just after his birthday), so for his birthday this year I needed something good. I decided to try out a new chocolate cake recipe from my friends Gü cookbook. 

The mix was very similar to that of a brownie mixture and of the Mississippi mud cake recipe so I was expecting greatness. Unfortunately for me this wasn’t my favourite chocolate cake ever, I felt it was missing something and I couldn’t quite put my finger on what. Everyone else was happy with it though and just told me I was being a fuss pot. The cake was smothered in a dark chocolate ganache, the best way to cover a chocolate cake in my opinion! It was definitely more of a pudding with cream cake than an on its own cake though, if you know what I mean? 

My boyfriend is very much a football fan so I decided that a football would be a great idea. As I wasn’t baking in my own kitchen (and also wasn’t very well at time of baking) I decided against attempting a spherical cake! So Jen and I made a stencil to have the football pattern in icing sugar on top. This didn’t quite tessalate as beautifully as I would have hoped for but it had a similar effect and I was pleased. 

Chloe xx

  

Leave a Reply

