Sophie Bakes: Her Husband’s Birthday Cake

I have a confession to make. Last year I was a mean wife. My husband’s birthday and Chloe’s are only three days apart and in the whole day bakeathon with Chloe I might have forgotten to schedule in baking a cake for him until a week or so afterwards. 

I’ve already written about baking the rainbow cake so won’t go back into it here apart from to say that seeing the cake caused my favourite ever reaction from my husband. When he first came into the kitchen and saw the massive cake we had created (it was taller than Chloe’s head – I have photos to prove it) he laughed and laughed and laughed. 

So when it came to baking for his 25th birthday I thought it would be nice to make him his own rainbow cake. So I did (and felt like I was cheating on Chloe the whole time as she wasn’t there to make it with me). 

This – I am sure – is only the first of many rainbow cakes that will be posted on this blog,  as I definitely want to make another with Chloe (and all of the correct rainbow colours). 

The cake was well received and even though cutting thin slices gave you a massive amount of cake I saw at least one person go up for seconds so it must have been pretty tasty! In order for you to see the colours I’m going to leave you with a picture of a slice of cake rather than of the uncut cake itself. 

Soph x 

  

Leave a Reply

